Am I able to use AT&T Mobile Transfer if I am a new AT&T customer?
No, only existing customers can take advantage of the Mobile Transfer application.
Note: Both the old phone and the new phone will need to be supported in order to be able to complete the transfer using the AT&T Mobile Transfer app. Check Compatibility.
How do I back up my contacts, pictures and videos to transfer to a new phone?
There are 3 easy steps to follow:
- Check to see if both phones are compatible.
- Before you remove your SIM from your old phone, text 'Transfer' to 6565 from the old phone to receive a text message with the link to download the Mobile Transfer app and set up your account.
- Follow steps 1-2 with your new phone and follow the prompts to complete the transfer of your contacts, pictures and videos.
Note: If you have deactivated your old phone, you can still use AT&T Mobile Transfer. Connect the old phone to the internet via Wi-Fi to download AT&T Mobile Transfer from the appropriate app store. Install AT&T Mobile Transfer and follow the on-screen directions.
What kind of data can be transferred using the AT&T Mobile Transfer app?
AT&T Mobile Transfer can be used to transfer your device contacts, photos and videos.
Note: Not all video formats are supported on all devices. iOS devices do not allow the import of non-supported file types. Windows phones do not allow transfer of any video files.
Does AT&T Mobile Transfer move other content such as music, wallpaper or ringtones?
No, however wallpapers can be set once photos are transferred. Ringtones will need to be downloaded again.
How much content can I transfer?
With smartphones, you will have 2GB of storage for pictures and videos. If you attempt to upload more that 2GB of data, an error screen with the size of both photos and videos will appear. With both messaging and feature phones, you are limited to 50 MB of data.
- Contacts – Do not count against the storage limit. Contacts from both the phone book and SIM card will be transferred. Thumbnails attached to contacts will not be transferred. If the new phone does not support certain contact fields, those fields will not be transferred. Note: 3rd party cloud contacts (Google, Twitter, Facebook, Microsoft Exchange, etc.) are not supported and can not be transferred with this process.
- Photos and videos – If you have content that exceeds the storage limit, you can either deselect either pictures or videos or delete unwanted files to reach transfer limits.
- MicroSD card – If your old phone has a MicroSD card you can copy content to the memory card and transfer files by physically transferring the card. When you move from a 3D phone to a non-3D phone the transfer of the 3D content may experience issues, due to limitations of the non-3D phone. Note: iPhone 3G customers cannot transfer video files greater than 200MB in size.
Can I use my phone while content is being transferred?
You can use the phone while content is being transferred however, we do not recommend you take or view pictures/videos or open a data session (browse the web, video chat) during the transfer as this will slow down the process. Phone calls will not slow the process.
How long will it take to transfer my content using the app?
There are a number of factors that affect the time to complete the transfer such as data size, connection speed and individual file sizes, therefore download speeds will vary. The estimated completion time is provided and updated while the transfer is occurring.
Do I have to transfer all my data in a single session?
No, you have the option of completing multiple transfers.
How long do I have to perform the transfer to my new phone?
You have 14 days to complete the transfer. After 14 days, your account will be deleted and you will need to restart the transfer of additional content.
Can I delete or uninstall the AT&T Mobile Transfer application after use?
Yes, AT&T Mobile Transfer can be deleted or uninstalled after you have completed transfer.
Is there a charge for the Mobile Transfer application?
The Mobile Transfer app is free and is intended for one time use at the point of upgrade or new phone purchase.
If I don't have a data plan, how would the transfer translate into cost on my bill?
Data usage in connection with AT&T Mobile Transfer is zero-rated. If your phone is Wi-Fi capable, we recommend using a Wi-Fi connection for a more optimal transfer experience.
I installed and launched AT&T Mobile Transfer on my new phone first – can I still transfer content from my old phone?
Yes. Connect the old device to the internet via Wi-Fi and search the app store for "AT&T Mobile Transfer." Then install and login to the application. Then select "Transfer Mobile Data from this Device."
Note: You may have to move their SIM back to the old phone for internet access if the old device is not Wi-Fi capable.
What if I completed the transfer but didn't receive all of my content?
In the situation that the content was not transferred successfully, you can repeat the transfer process from the cloud to the new phone again. Please return to your old phone and repeat the process.
Note: AT&T Mobile Transfer will only move data from the old phone that was not transferred the first time to avoid duplication. This means if you transfer contacts a second time and no new contacts were added to the original phone, then no data will be moved.
How do I change or retrieve a forgotten AT&T Mobile Transfer app password?
Open the Mobile Transfer application and click on the retrieve a forgotten password link and follow instructions on how to reset password.