AT&T Announces Preliminary Results of 2012 Annual Meeting

Salt Lake City, Utah, April 27, 2012

At its annual meeting of stockholders today, AT&T Inc. (NYSE:T) announced that each of the 11 nominees were reelected to the company’s board of directors for one-year terms, with each member receiving at least 96.3 percent of the shares voted. The board members are:

  • Randall L. Stephenson
  • Gilbert F. Amelio
  • Reuben V. Anderson
  • James H. Blanchard
  • Jaime Chico Pardo
  • James P. Kelly
  • Jon C. Madonna
  • John B. McCoy
  • Joyce M. Roché
  • Matthew K. Rose
  • Laura D'Andrea Tyson

Additionally, AT&T stockholders voted to approve the following items proposed by the board of directors:

  • The appointment of Ernst & Young LLP as the company’s independent auditor, with 98.4 percent of shares cast in favor and 1.6 percent cast against.
  • The compensation of AT&T’s executive officers as described in the 2012 proxy statement, with 93.2 percent of shares cast in favor and 6.8 percent cast against.

The board of directors proposed a fourth item — an amendment to the company’s certificate of incorporation to eliminate the article requiring the approval of two-thirds of the outstanding shares for action by written consent. Under Delaware law, the amendment to the certificate of incorporation requires the approval of at least two-thirds of the outstanding shares. This proposal received the approval of 50.9 percent of shares outstanding and did not pass.

The following proposals from stockholders were also voted on:

  • A proposal asking AT&T to issue a semi-annual report on political contributions and the policies and procedures for making such contributions was defeated by a vote of 61.4 percent against to 38.6 percent in favor.
  • A proposal asking that AT&T commit to operating its wireless network without the ability to privilege, degrade or prioritize any traffic was defeated by a vote of 94.1 percent against to 5.9 percent in favor.
  • A proposal asking that AT&T adopt a policy that the chairman of the board be an independent director was defeated by a vote of 56.2 percent against to 43.8 percent in favor.
Click here to see final 2012 voting results.