AT&T Announces Technology Award Winners

Company Recognizes 17 Employees for Outstanding Achievements and Contributions Made to the Technical Community

Florham Park, New Jersey, February 5, 2008

AT&T Inc. (NYSE:T) today announced the names and accomplishments of five AT&T Fellows Honor recipients and 12 Science and Technology Medalists at the AT&T Technology Awards Dinner at Trump National Golf Club in Bedminster.

Recognized publicly since 1982, AT&T annually acknowledges those individuals in its technical community who have made continual, outstanding and unique contributions to AT&T and the world through their technical and scientific achievements. These men and women are bestowed with the AT&T Fellows Honor for making a great impact on the business and the scientific world.

AT&T Science and Technology Medalists also are acknowledged in AT&T's technical community for demonstrating remarkable technical depth in a given area that results in a unique and significant contribution to innovation at AT&T.

"We are pleased to recognize the men and women whose vision and passion to solve complex problems with workable solutions have given AT&T tremendous competitive advantages," said John Stankey, group president, AT&T Operations. "Ongoing progressive innovation is critical not only for the continuing success and leadership of AT&T but also to the continual advancement of communications across the industry and across the world."

Recipients of the AT&T Fellows Honor for 2007 are:

  • Christopher Chase (Austin, Texas), for innovative and pioneering contributions to Virtual Private Network architecture and management.
  • Nicholas Duffield (Florham Park), for fundamental contributions to network measurement that have had a broad impact on AT&T and the industry.
  • Gerald Karam (Florham Park), for technical contribution and leadership in the creation and implementation of Voice XML and innovative voice services over Internet Protocol (IP).
  • Stephen North (Florham Park,), for leading research in visualization of information at large scale.
  • Walter Willinger (Florham Park), for fundamental contributions to understanding the behavior of large data networks.

The 2007 AT&T Science and Technology Medalists are:

  • Jon Barry (Tampa, Fla.), for technical innovation and outstanding contributions to AT&T remote access services.
  • Pierre Costa (Austin, Texas), for technical contribution in the field of video research, design and quality-evaluation techniques.
  • David Gibbon (Middletown, N.J.), for outstanding technical leadership in the field of video and multimedia processing and digital content management.
  • Karrie J. Hanson (Florham Park), for sustained technical innovation of Web-based communications services.
  • Balachander Krishnamurthy (Florham Park), for technical leadership and innovation in helping to establish disciplined Internet and Web measurement.
  • Richard T. Kwapniewski (Middletown, N.J.), for outstanding technical contributions to the introduction of IP version 6 technology and for sustained technical innovation in control plane reliability and performance.
  • Anthony C. Longhitano (Middletown, N.J.), for his lifetime contributions to the development and implementation of IP/Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS), Asynchronous Transfer Mode (ATM) and frame relay communications networks.
  • Kent McCammon (San Ramon, Calif.), for his outstanding technical contributions in broadband access technologies employed in the AT&T U-verseSM TV platform.
  • Raj Savoor (San Ramon, Calif.), for technical innovation and leadership in the design and development of performance and capacity applications.
  • David Shively (Atlanta), for outstanding technical contributions to AT&T's wireless business, including strategic direction for spectrum management and radio technologies.
  • Oliver Spatscheck (Florham Park), for invention and innovative application of deep packet inspection application monitoring technology.
  • Marc Sullivan (Austin, Texas), for outstanding technical achievement and leadership in the development of customer-facing aspects of DSL and U-verse IP television (IPTV) services.

Note: This AT&T release and other news announcements are available as part of an RSS feed at

Related News Releases: Web Sites:

About AT&T
AT&T Inc. (NYSE:T) is a premier communications holding company. Its subsidiaries and affiliates, AT&T operating companies, are the providers of AT&T services in the United States and around the world. Among their offerings are the world's most advanced IP-based business communications services and the nation's leading wireless, high speed Internet access and voice services. In domestic markets, AT&T is known for the directory publishing and advertising sales leadership of its Yellow Pages and YELLOWPAGES.COM organizations, and the AT&T brand is licensed to innovators in such fields as communications equipment. As part of its three-screen integration strategy, AT&T is expanding its TV entertainment offerings. Additional information about AT&T Inc. and the products and services provided by AT&T subsidiaries and affiliates is available at

© 2008 AT&T Intellectual Property. All rights reserved. AT&T, AT&T logo and all other marks contained herein are trademarks of AT&T Intellectual Property and/or AT&T affiliated companies.