The app uses Wi-Fi and location services to help you find family members’ devices.
To use the AT&T Secure Family® location tracking and alerts, make sure the:
Follow the in-app setup. Then on both adult and child devices, make sure Wi-Fi, Location Permission, and Location Services have Allow all the time turned On. Also make sure battery savings or battery optimization is turned Off.
Review the Secure Family FAQ (PDF, 1.5MB)
Use Secure Family to find connected family devices on the Family Hub or Family Map.
The map view shows each family member’s device location in a street or satellite view. It also shows the address or saved area for their default device. To see the device’s current location, tap Navigate.
To start Live Tracking, zoom in on your family member’s device in Family Map. A circle appears around the device icon when live tracking is on. Secure Family uses the device’s location to show it on a street or satellite map. This helps improve accuracy and saves the battery charge on your child’s device.
Create and monitor saved areas for places like home, school, or work. You’ll get alerts when your child’s or other family member’s device enters or leaves the area. Set the saved area size from 495 feet up to 6.2 miles.
To create a saved area:
Get location-based alerts when your child’s device enters or leaves a saved area like school, home, or a friend’s house. To set up these alerts:
Each scheduled alert sends up to 20 location updates for family members’ devices at set times. For example, set an alert for 3 p.m. to make sure your child got home from school.
Here’s how:
See where a family member’s device has been in the past seven days. On a family member’s profile details screen, tap Timeline. You’ll see the location history in a timeline and a 24-hour map view. You won’t see history for times when the device was turned off or location permissions were off.
You can delete location history in the Secure Family app settings. Location history refreshes after seven days and is deleted from time to time.
Note: Only adult profiles can view family member device location histories and timelines.