Configure Connection Maintenance in AT&T Communication Manager 7.1
Which device do you want help with?

Configure Connection Maintenance in AT&T Communication Manager 7.1


Instructions

 
Overview
 
Connection maintenance is used to configure how AT&T Communication Manager (ACM) handles multiple connections when they are simultaneously connected.  Here are a few examples of when connection maintainence could be used:
  • A user is connected to the mobile data network but frequently travels to open Wi-Fi hotspots and would like ACM to automatically disconnect their mobile connection when connected to a Wi-Fi hotspot.  Connection maintenance can be set to automatically disconnect after another connection is established.
  • A user has a LAN at home with a network-based printer, but their only means of Internet connectivity is via the mobile data network.  They wish to be able to simultaneously browse the Internet while accessing their network-based printer.  By configuring connection maintenance to allow simultaneous connections, it is possible to access both networks.
  • A business traveler wishes to connect to their VPN over the mobile data network.  Due to the way some VPN clients utilize a Local Area Connection when established, it may be necessary to configure connection maintenance to allow simultaneous connections to both networks.  If it is not configured properly, the mobile connection may disconnect as the VPN connects, dropping both data sessions.
Procedure
  • Click Tools.

     
  • Select Settings.

     
  • Select the Hardware tab.

     
  • A progress indicator will be shown while devices are detected.  It may take several minutes for this process to complete.

     
  • Select the desired connection options.

     
    • Allow simultaneous connections: AT&T Communication Manager (ACM) will not take action and will allow multiple technologies to be connected simultaneously.  The "Prompt before disconnect" checkbox will be grayed out in this mode.
    • Disconnect after another connection is established*: This is the default state.  If two or more connections become active, ACM will disconnect the lowest priority connection.
      Popup when alternate connection is established and "Prompt before disconnect" is set:

       
      Popup when alternate connection is established and "Prompt before disconnect" is not set:

       
    • Disconnect before another connection is attempted*: ACM will disconnect the undesired connection before it attempts to create a new connection.  When an ethernet or other non-ACM connection is active and "Connect" is clicked, a popup will appear notifying the user that the new connection cannot be established until the pre-existing connection is terminated
      Popup reardless of the "Prompt before disconnect" checkbox setting:

       
    • Disable other network adapters when connected*: ACM will disable network adapters other than the adapter that is currently connected.  If no connection are active, ACM will not disable any adapters.  If ACM has disabled adapters and the existing connection is terminated or ACM is closed, ACM will re-enable the adapters it disabled.  The "Prompt before disconnect" checkbox will be grayed out in this mode.
    • Prompt before disconnect: Communication Manager will prompt the user to either maintain or disconnect the active connection when establishing a new connection.
      * If this setting is selected, a popup will appear notifying the user that "Other" connection types have the highest priority.  This is not configurable when in this state.

       
  • Click Profiles.

     
  • Select the desired profile and click Up or Down to customize the priority order.
    NOTE: "Other Connections" always has the highest priority as ACM cannot control these connection types directly.

     
  • Click Close.

     
  • Click OK.

     
  • If another connection besides Mobile or Wi-fi is established in ACM (IE. Ethernet), the status will be shown on the bottom of the main interface.  When this connection is disconnected, the status pane will be removed completely.

     

Did you get the help you needed?

Great! We're so glad we could help.

We're sorry that didn't solve your issue.

Thanks for your feedback!