Anti-theft

Anti-theft

Set up your device so you can remotely locate and control.


INSTRUCTIONS & INFO
  1. Android Factory reset protection allows you to prevent non authorized users from accessing your device if it's been lost, stolen, or reset to factory settings without your permission. Only someone with the associated Google account or screen lock information can use the device.
    Note: Android Factory Reset Protection is now available on devices with software version 5.1. To view your software version, see the “View device software version” tutorial.
    device 2951/9999999_01.jpg
  2. Ensure that a PIN, Password, or Pattern screen lock is enabled on the device.
    Note: From the home screen, tap the Apps icon > Settings > Security > Lock screen > Select the desired PIN, Pattern, or Password lock option and follow the prompts to complete the setup.
    device 2951/9999999_02.jpg
  3. Ensure that a Google account has been added.
    Note: From the home screen, tap the Apps icon > Settings > Accounts > Google.
    device 2951/9999999_03.jpg
  4. To remotely ring, lock, or erase a lost device using the Android Device Manager website, go to android.com/devicemanager. Skip to Step 7.
    device 2951/9999999_04.jpg
  5. To remotely ring, lock, or erase a lost device using another mobile device, that device must have the Android Device Manager app installed.
    Note: Tap Play Store > Search for “Android Device Manager” > Follow the prompts to install the app.
    device 2951/9999999_05.jpg
  6. Tap Apps, and then tap Android Device Manager app.
    Note: New users will need to tap Accept to continue.
    device 2951/9999999_06.jpg
  7. Sign in to the Google account.
    device 2951/9999999_07.jpg
  8. Tap the arrow next to the device name to select the lost device. Android Device Manager will show the location of that device.
    device 2951/9999999_08.jpg
  9. Select from the following options. You may need to enable Lock & Erase first. 
    device 2951/9999999_09.jpg
  10. Ring: The device rings at full volume for 5 minutes, even if it is set to silent or vibrate.
    device 2951/9999999_10.jpg
  11. Lock: Locks the device with a new password.
    device 2951/9999999_11.jpg
  12. Erase: Permanently deletes all of the data on the device.
    device 2951/9999999_12.jpg
  13. For more information on device protection from Google, please go to Google’s support site. 
    device 2951/9999999_13.jpg

Did you get the help you needed?

Great! We're so glad we could help.

0/500

We're sorry that didn't solve your issue.

0/500

Thanks for your feedback!