Anti-theft
Which device do you want help with?

Anti-theft

Set up your device so you can remotely locate and control.


INSTRUCTIONS & INFO
  1. Android Factory reset protection allows you to prevent non-authorized users from accessing your device if it's been lost, stolen, or reset to factory settings without your permission. Only someone with the associated Google account or screen lock information can use the device.
    Note: Android Factory Reset Protection is now available on devices with software version 5.1. To view your software version, see the 'Software version' tutorial under System & Storage.
    device 5012/9006960_01.jpg
  2. Ensure that a PIN, Password, or Pattern screen lock is enabled on the device.
    Note: From the Home screen swipe down with two fingers. Tap the Settings icon > Security > Screen lock. Select the desired PIN, Pattern, or Password lock option and follow the prompts to complete the setup.
    device 5012/9006960_02.jpg
  3. Ensure that a Google account has been added.
    Note: From the Home screen swipe down with two fingers. Tap the Settings icon > Accounts & sync > Google.
    device 5012/9006960_03.jpg
  4. To remotely ring, lock or erase device using a computer.  Sign in to your Google Account on android.com/devicemanager.
    device 5012/9006960_04.jpg
  5. To remotely ring, lock, or erase a lost device using another mobile device, that device must have the Android Device Manager app installed.
    Note: Tap Play Store > Search for "Android Device Manager" > Follow the prompts to install the app.
    device 5012/9006960_05.jpg
  6. Tap Android Device Manager app.
    Note: New users will need to tap Accept and sign in to continue.
    device 5012/9006960_06.jpg
  7. Tap the arrow next to the device name to select the lost device. Android Device Manager will show the location of that device.
    device 5012/9006960_07.jpg
  8. Select from the following options. You may need to enable 'Lock & Erase' first.
    device 5012/9006960_08.jpg
  9. Ring: The device rings at full volume for 5 minutes, even if it is set to silent or vibrate.
    device 5012/9006960_09.jpg
  10. Lock: Locks the device with a new password.
    device 5012/9006960_10.jpg
  11. Erase: Permanently deletes all of the data on the device.
    Note: For more information on device protection from Google, please go to Google’s Support site.
    device 5012/9006960_11.jpg

Did you get the help you needed?

Great! We're so glad we could help.

We're sorry that didn't solve your issue.

Thanks for your feedback!