Anti-Theft

Anti-Theft

Android Factory reset protection allows you to prevent non authorized users from accessing your device if it's been lost, stolen, or reset to factory settings without your permission.


INSTRUCTIONS & INFO
  1. Android Factory reset protection allows you to prevent non authorized users from accessing your device if it's been lost, stolen, or reset to factory settings without your permission. Only someone with the associated Google account or screen lock information can use the device.
    Note: Android Factory Reset Protection is now available on devices with software version 5.1 or later. To view your software version, see the Software Version tutorial.
    device 5160/9006960_01.jpg
  2. ENABLE ANDROID DEVICE MANAGER: Swipe down from the Notification bar with two fingers, then select the Settings icon > General tab > Google services > Security > Allow remote lock and erase ON > ACTIVATE.
    Note: You will also need a PIN, Password, or Pattern screen lock enabled and a Google account added. For more information, see the Google Sign-In or the Secure My Device tutorials.
    device 5160/9006960_02.jpg
  3. REMOTELY RING, LOCK OR ERASE DEVICE USING A COMPUTER: Sign in to your Google Account on www.android.com/devicemanager. From here you can makes changes to settings and choose the desired option.
    device 5160/9006960_03.jpg
  4. REMOTELY RING, LOCK OR ERASE DEVICE USING ANOTHER ANDROID DEVICE: You must have the Android Device Manager downloaded on both devices. To download, select Play Store > search Android Device Manager > Android Device Manager > INSTALL > ACCEPT.
    device 5160/9006960_04.jpg
  5. Select the Android Device Manager app.
    Note: New users will need to select Accept and sign in to continue.
    device 5160/9006960_05.jpg
  6. Select the Drop-down icon next to the device name to select the lost device. Android Device Manager will show the location of that device.
    device 5160/9006960_06.jpg
  7. Ring: The device rings at full volume for 5 minutes, even if it is set to silent or vibrate. Lock: Locks the device with a new password. Erase: Permanently deletes all of the data on the device.
    device 5160/9006960_07.jpg

Did you get the help you needed?

Great! We're so glad we could help.

0/500

We're sorry that didn't solve your issue.

0/500

Thanks for your feedback!